The Sew Sampler Box

How I love thee, let me count the ways…

I have a bit of a problem when it comes to fabric and I think practically every quilter in the world can sympathize. I love fabric. I love looking at it, buying it, moving it around in different combinations. (I also have a problem cutting into it, but that is a topic for another day.)

When I moved to California with my family a little over a year ago I had to purge my crafting supplies. My beloved quilting fabric was not immune to this purge. I cut down my hoard collection to about a fifth of what it was, and still brought a very large basket full with me. Knowing that this apartment is just a pit stop before we buy a house I could not let myself replenish my stash, but oh how I wanted to. My husband Mike has books, I have fabric and paint. So this past March when I started seeing ads for Fat Quarter Shops, Sew Sampler box, well how could I resist. I would get a treat each month, add a bit to my stash, and not feel deprived of one of my great loves.

A treat it has been. I have gotten the boxes from the very first one in April til the latest box in September. They are shipped out the 20th of every month and arrive in a pretty blue box. sewsampler1b

I have received charm packs, jelly rolls, tins, rulers, pencils, thread, etc. The most recent box was their sixth and it was just as nice as the first.

sewsampler6a.jpg

Besides the assortment of goodies, each box contains a Block Recipe Card and a quilt pattern. If you love fabric/quilting and would love to give yourself a treat, this is well worth the monthly fee of $30($25 plus $5 shipping fee).

-Kimberly

Leave a Reply

